top of page
cars racing


Press releases, headlines & everything else you need to know.

Berlin Raceway to Host First of Two 500 Sprint Car Tour Events

On Saturday, June 11, Berlin Raceway in Marne, Michigan will host its first of two events

on the 500 Sprint Car Tour Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Part Stores calendar. The event will

be the second of a back to back for the tour drivers as they will compete at Plymouth Motor

Speedway on Friday night. With an entry list of over 20 drivers and names like Roahrig,

Swanson, and Ferns, fans are in for an experience unlike any other.

The 500 Sprint Car Tour presented by Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Part Stores

heading to the state of Michigan is not only the second race of a back to back weekend, but also

the second race in a row that one of its drivers returns home. USAC Silver Crown barrier

breaker, Taylor Ferns (Shelby Township, Mich.) returns to the state she calls home. This comes

just one day after Tyler Roahrig (Plymouth, Ind.) makes his return to his home track of Plymouth

Motor Speedway.

Perhaps the best female racer in the history of pavement Sprint Car racing, Taylor Ferns

will bring her talents back to her home state of Michigan to compete for the 500 Sprint Car tour

Championship. Ferns holds the record as the highest finishing female in USAC Silver Crown

history as she finished 3rd in this year’s Carb Night Classic at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway

Park. She is the only female to finish on the podium of a Silver Crown event. Ferns will be

competing in her #55 Taylor Ferns Racing entry that is sponsored by local law firm, Sam

Bernstein Law Firm.

Other names that local fans can keep an eye on will be Tyler Roahrig and Kody

Swanson. Roahrig is a two-time, and reigning, champion of the Lucas Oil Little 500 Presented

by UAW and has also won the Tony Elliott Classic three times and the Glen Niebel Classic in

2020. Roahrig also has won the three major Outlaw Super Late Model events with four

Kalamazoo Klash wins, six Summer Sizzler wins, and two Glass City 200 wins. The driver of the

#56 CB Fabricating entry has shown dominance so far this season breaking the track record at

Anderson Speedway, winning pole position for the Little 500, and capping off his Month of May

with his second Little 500 victory.

Kody Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.) is a championship caliber driver with a proven track

record unlike any other driver in the field. He is a six-time USAC Silver Crown Champion, three-

time Little 500 Champion, and has competed in the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires

and the Superstar Racing Experience (SRX). The 500 Sprint Car Tour Championship is another

accolade Swanson seeks to add to his resume. Both Swanson and Roahrig were named to

Racing America’s most versatile drivers in short track racing.

Other entries for this weekend's event include Bobby Santos III (Franklin, Mass.), Kyle

O’Gara (Camby, Ind.), Davey Hamilton Jr. (Boise, Idaho), Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, Ind.),

Chris Jagger (Warsaw, Ind.), Tony Main (Farmland, Ind.), Joe Liguori (Tampa, Fl.), and Derek

Bischak (Angola, Ind.).

The 500 Sprint Car Tour will be the final feature (40 laps) on Saturday Night. Three other

series will be in action with the Coors Light Sportsman Series, Auto Value 4 Cylinder Series,

and the VROA Series. General Admission gates will open at 4pm. Practice and qualifying will

begin for all four series starting at 4pm and features will begin at 6:30pm starting with the VROA

heats. Racing action can be streamed on MAVTV Plus. 


02 Cord Ehrhart/Antwerp, Ohio (Ehrhart)

1 Dakoda Armstrong/New Castle, Indiana (C&A Motorsports)

4B Cory Butler/Baltimore, Ohio (Butler)

11 Tom Geren/Montpeilier, Ohio (Geren)

11 Tom Paterson/Argos, Indiana (Paterson)

13 Joe Ligouri/Tampa, Indiana (Joe Ligouri Racing)

14 Davey Hamilton Jr/Boise, Idaho (Kirk Morgan)

17R Kyle Robbins/New Castle, Indiana (KR Racing)

18 Travis Welpott/Pendleton, Indiana (Welpott Racing)

22A Bobby Santos III/Franklin, Massachusetts (DJ Racing)

31 Derek Bischak/Angola, Indiana (Performance Assurance Inc.)

44 Kody Swanson/Kingsburg, California (Doran Enterprise)

53 Justin Harper/Denver, Indiana (TCJ Racing)

55 Taylor Ferns/Shelby Township, Michigan (Taylor Ferns Racing)

56 Tyler Roahrig/Plymouth, Indiana (Tyler Roahrig)

67 Kyle O’Gara/Beech Grove, Indiana (SFH Racing Development)

74 Tony Main/Farmland, Indiana (Glen Main)

77 Quintin Saayman/Bapsfontein, Gauteng, SA (Saayman)

80 Billy Wease/Fishers, Indiana (Wease)

127 Chris Jagger/Warsaw, Indiana (Jagger)


Recent Posts