Lou Cicconi victorious in ISMA 50
JoJo Helburg, Tom Thomas and Tim DeVos also take checkers

Marne, MI – Berlin Raceway played host to the ISMA Super Modifieds and the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series tonight and the crowd was anxious to see some open-wheel racing. The Port City Racecars / GL Helicopter Outlaw Late Models and Engine Pro Super Stocks were also on hand for a wild night of racing.

The Engine Pro Super Stocks took the track first with #18 Denny Anderson and #73 Tim DeVos starting on the front row of the 30-lap feature. Anderson led and the top three was pulling away while the battle was on for fourth between #51 Weston Jewett and #20J Jeremy Munniksma. Just before Munniksma was able to clear him, the caution was out involving the #88 Trever McCoy and #00 Dennis Mann. As the race was restarted, the caution came out again, this time for the #44 of Brian VanZalen spun on the backstretch. Anderson got a good restart and DeVos was able to stay with him. Fast qualifier #6 Bob Bliss started the race mid-pack and that’s where all of the racing action was. Bliss was the car to watch; he was up to fifth as DeVos made the pass for the lead. A few laps later, #20J Jeremy Munniksma passed Anderson for second and Bliss followed through to crack the top three. Bliss and Munniksma were battling for position with five laps to go; Bliss was able to quickly clear him and took off after the leader. Though Bliss was reeling him in, there was not enough time to catch him. DeVos took the win and the rest of the top ten were Bliss, Munniksma, #48 Seth Moody, #51 Justin Ryan, Anderson, #66 Nate Walton, #77 Andrew Nylaan, #16 Josh Slade and #20 Dave Hull.

Up next was the 100-lap feature for the Port City Racecars / GL Helicopter Outlaw Late Models, #82 Tom Thomas was on the pole with #15 Brian Maxim on his outside. Maxim grabbed the lead and the field settled into a groove. On lap 9, Thomas reclaimed the lead and the #37 of Terry Senneker was on the move, passing both #28 Scott Thomas and #1 Barry Hartwell at the same time and this brought him up to ninth after starting in the 13th position. Lap 19 saw #32 Ross Meeuwsen creep up to him and they were both on their way to the front and Thomas was lapping cars. The first caution of the race came on lap 36 when #88 Tim Yonker spun into the wall between three and four. The race was shortened to 60 laps due to time constraints, Maxim took the lead again on the restart and #X Ray Clay and Thomas were side by side with Senneker and Meeuwsen behind them. Clay took the lead with 15 laps to go and Maxim was shuffled back to fifth. Thomas was working over Clay for the lead and he took it the two laps to go. Thomas went on to get the lead and the rest of the top ten were Meeuwsen, Clay, Senneker, DeVos, #14 Steve Needles, #21 Terry VanHaitsma, #10 Mike Lichty, #16 Jeff Ganus and Maxim.

The 30-lap Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series rolled next, #51 Mike Larrison and #88 Jimmy McCune led the field to the green flag. Just as the cars were getting wound up, the #5R Darrin Roberts spun and the field had to be completely restarted. It was the #7 of JoJo Helberg who took the lead and just a handful of laps later, he was in traffic. He was setting a blistering pace when the first caution came out, Larrison and #0 Craig Karazim got hooked together and came to a stop on the top of turn 2. Helberg took off with the lead as McCune was left to battle with the #07 of Jacob Wilson for second. With ten laps to go, Helberg had a 3.5 second lead. The caution was out again on lap 23 when Karazim spun on the frontstretch. Helberg jumped on the gas on the restart and the final seven laps went by in a flash. Helburg took home the victory and the rest of the top ten were McCune, #10 Jason Blonde, Wilson, #40 Jason Cox, #10 Troy DeCaire, #07 Ryan Litt, #41 Brian Olsen, #12 Billy Wease and #70 Sondi Eden.

The ISMA Super Modifieds were the last race of the night; #5 Sondi Eden and #70 Dave McKnight were on the front row of the 50-lap feature. Eden got a good jump, #78 Mark Sammut was in second and while it took a few laps for him to come up to full speed, he was slowly reeling her in. Ten laps in, the field was racing single file as they had 40 more laps to go. Sammut made it to Eden’s bumper on lap 20 and Sammut grabbed the lead on lap 23. There was also a great battle going on for third between #75 Lou Cicconi and #32 Tim Jedrezejek; they raced side by side for many laps before Jedrezejek took the position. The first caution of the race came on lap 28 when the #72 of Danny Shirey hit the wall on the frontstretch. Sammut took the lead on the restart and the caution was out again when the #14 of AJ Leseki came to a stop at the bottom of turn 1. Cicconi went to the lead on lap 31 and flat drove away from the field. Cicconi got the win and the rest of the top ten were Sammut, #84 Mike Lichty, #74 Johnny Benson, #97 Eddie Witkum, #37 Jeff Locke, Eden, #46 Ryan Coniam, Jedrezejek and #16 Paul White.

Next Saturday, September 1 is Championship Tune Up night. It will feature the Coors Light Super Late Models, Model Coverall Modifieds, Kerkstra Services Sportsman, Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders and the Vintage Racing Organization of America. Tickets are $12 for adults and kids 11 and under are free; racing starts at 7:00 p.m.































Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />