Billy Eppink and Weston Jewett score first wins of season
-Ross Meeuwsen and Don Deyman add to win totals-

Marne, MI – It was a beautiful night for racing on Kids Night at Berlin Raceway. The crowd saw Don Deyman battle it out with Tom Boorsma and Samantha Jansen to claim victory in the Napa Filters Racing VROA, Weston Jewett (Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman) and Billy Eppink (Model Coverall Modifieds) got their first wins of the season and Ross Meeuwsen continued dominating the Budweiser Super Late Model division.

The Napa Filters Racing VROA Modifieds were up first; #30 Todd Cowan and #4x Arnie Snyder started out front for the 25-lap feature. Cowan was leading and being chased by #31 Larry Mollohan and #21 Tom Boorsma. While battling for position, Boorsma tapped Cowan, Cowan spun, as did Mollohan, bringing out the first caution of the race on lap 2. Boorsma took the lead on the restart and pulled away from the field and behind him, there was a 4-car battle for second. The pace of the race was slowed again on lap 4 when #84 Andrew Bartoszek spun in turn 1. Just as the field took the green flag, the yellow was back out for an incident involving #83 Loren Peterson, #55 Jeff Barsen and #3 Lou Caposey. Boorsma took off again after the restart and #59 John Evans, #16 Samantha Jansen, #20 Don Deyman and #82 Rob Parker were stacked side by side for second. Evans made it out first, but he would soon be challenged by Jansen and Deyman. Jansen got around him on lap 9 and took off after Boorsma with Deyman following her. Jansen was reeling Boorsma in with each passing lap, even with Deyman battling her for second. He pulled even with her on lap 13 and made the pass on the backstretch. With 5 laps to go, Deyman was in striking distance and he did just that, taking the lead with 3 laps to go. There was a quick yellow on that lap as well when #4x Arnie Snyder spun in turn 1. Deyman hung on to the lead to get another in the win column and the rest of the top ten were Boorsma, Jensen, Evans, #86 Bob Martin, #2 Randy Pierson, Mollohan, Parker, Peterson and Bartoszek.

Up next were the Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman 25-lap feature with #11 Tim Stuart and #40 Dave Cutler on the front row. It was Cutler who took off with the lead, leaving Stuart to fend off #51 Weston Jewett, #15 Scott Root and #77 Gerry Shepard. The first caution came out on lap 5 when #20 Tyler Nawrocki spun in turn 2. Before a lap was complete, the caution was back out for debris in turn 3. As the field was coming up to speed, the caution came out again, this time for #3 Larry Root spinning on the frontstretch. They had a successful restart and it was Jewett who took the lead from Cutler and then he started to pull away from the field. The rest of the race happened without incident and the checkers flew for Jewett. The rest of the top ten were Root, Cutler, #77 Gerry Shepard, #33 Allen Davis, #1 Randy Veldman, #51 Shawn Simon, Stuart, #89 Kirk Meissner and #17 Jared Miller.

It was the #29 Rob Shoemaker and #76 Ryan Gruppen leading the Model Coverall Modifieds to the green flag for a 25-lap feature. Gruppen took the lead and the #7 of Ryan Hamm was up to second, racing hard with Gruppen. Lap 3 saw the first caution which involved the leaders Gruppen and Hamm in turn 2. This handed the lead to #97 Kevin DeGood. Just as the cars took the green the yellow was back out for the new leaders, DeGood and #22 Billy Shotko who had problems in turn 1. The new leader was Shoemaker with #8 Billy Eppink running second. Eppink took the lead on the restart and the #88 of Tony Davis was up to second. DeGood has been weaving through the field and rallied to third by lap 8 all while Eppink stretched his lead to over 2 seconds. DeGood overtook Davis for second on lap 13 and then began to reel in Eppink who had accumulated over a 3-second lead. The race went the rest of the way under green and Eppink got his first win of the season. DeGood finished second and the rest of the top ten were Davis, Shotko, #68 Randy DeBoer, #16 Kris Fewless, Shoemaker, Castle, Gruppen and Hamm.

The final event of the night was the 75-lap Budweiser Super Late Model feature; #82 Tom Thomas and #37 Jordan Dahlke. It was Dahlke who took the lead, followed by #55 Chris Anthony and #12 Tim DeVos. It didn’t take long for #99 Rodd Meeuwsen to get to the front, he took the lead form Dahlke on lap 6, but Dahlke wasn’t letting him get too far away. The next battle on track was for third between DeVos and Thomas, the pair seemed to be pretty evenly matched. Meeuwsen had caught the tail end of the field on lap 35. While Meeuwsen navigated it without problem, Dahlke did not have such an easy time and that let Meeuwsen get almost 2 seconds ahead of the field. With 25 laps left in the race, Meeuwsen was still leading, but now it was Thomas who was in second, trying to reel him in. With the race going caution free, Thomas wasn’t not able to catch Meeuwsen, who went on to get his fourth win of the season. The rest of the top ten were Thomas, Dahlke, DeVos, #222 Caleb Bisacky, #48 Seth Moody, Anthony, #77 Andrew Nylaan, #101 Lauren Bush and #55 Dave Lake.

Next Saturday, August 24 the Must See Xtreme Sprint Series will be in town and joined by the Engine Pro Super Stocks, Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman and Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders. Tickets are $18 for adults 18+, $10 for students 12-17, $5 kids 8-11 and children 7 and under are free; racing starts at 7:00 p.m.

Camping is available on site all season long. There are limited spaces for electrical and water so act fast as camping spots are first come, first served.

For more information about this event as well as our weekly racing program please visit our website at

Be sure to become a fan of Berlin Raceway for all of the latest news and contests at:

You can also follow Berlin Raceway on the official Twitter page:

For general questions, please call the Berlin Raceway track office on Tuesday - Friday from 9am - 5pm weekly.




Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />