Justin Ryan victorious on Super Stock Night
-Ryan Hamm, Tony Davis and Mike Speet also win

Marne, MI – Week two is in the books at Berlin Raceway and all of the divisions provided amazing racing action throughout the night. Winners on the night included: Justin Ryan (Engine Pro Super Stock), Ryan Hamm (Model Coverall Modified), Tony Davis (Kerkstra Services Sportsman) and Mike Speet (Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinder).

The Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinder hit the track first for a 15-lap feature with #81 Robbie Ream and #17 Seth VanHorssen on the front row. The #91 of Rob Ream was quick to take the lead on the backstretch, but the caution was out before the lap was complete, the caution was out for Robbie Ream spinning out of turn 4. After a second attempt at a start, the cars scattered three wide throughout the field, but by the time the field hit turn 4 again, there was another caution involving Rob Ream and #9 Zach Clark. The third time was the charm for this division when it came to restarts; the #62 of Charlie DeJong led the first official lap, but the car on the move was #76 Mike Speet who swung his car high and took the lead on lap 2. The field settled down and spread out to single file and by lap 5, Speet was lapping cars. The third caution of the race came on lap 6 when #68 Jerry Smith drove off of the backstretch. The race was restarted and cut to ten laps due to time; Speet got his second win in a row and the rest of the top ten were DeJong, #44 Chuck Norris, #2 Darrell Holtzlander, #10 Dave Duyst, #20 Jackson Walker, VanHorssen, #63 Paul Ritchie, #3 Dan Schoenborn and #36 Kyle VanDrunen.

Up next was the Kerkstra Services Sportsman division; #33 Allen Davis started on the pole with #23 Andrew MacIntosh on his outside for the 25-lap feature. Allen Davis led and the entire field jostled for position behind him. The #15 of Scott Root and #76 Brian Tillema raced side by side for second and #88 Tony Davis was lurking in fourth waiting to see which line would move. Tillema took the lead on lap 5 and Tony Davis made it way up to second; the pair broke away from the field and half way and T. Davis was all over Tillema’s back bumper, challenging for the lead. Lap 11 saw the first caution of the race for debris in turn 2. After the restart, Tillema continued to lead and the #F1 of Randy Veldman was on the move, claiming the third position and chasing down Tillema and Tony Davis. On lap 16, Tony Davis was looking to get to Tillema’s inside, they raced side by side on lap 18 and he took the lead on lap 22. Tony Davis was unable to clear Tillema until he took the white flag and by the time they took the checkered flag, Tony Davis had claimed the victory. Tillema finished second and the rest of the top ten were Veldman, #23 Andrew MacIntosh, #52 Nick Sherrington, Allen Davis, #89 Kirk Meissner, #84 Tyler Nawrocki and #9 Tyler Sterken.

The Model Coverall Modifieds took the track for the time of the 2012 season, the 30-lap feature saw #76 Ryan Gruppen and #68 Randy DeBoer lead the field to the green flag. Gruppen maintained the first position while the battle for second was heating up between #22 Billy Shotko and #7 Ryan Hamm. After a few laps, they both were challenging for the lead. Shotko was able to make the pass for the lead on the outside on lap 6 and Hamm was looking to advance his position the same way. The #8 of Billy Eppink and #97 Kevin DeGood were also joining that battle. Shotko and Hamm were pulling away from the field, but Hamm was reeling in Shotko bit by bit. Hamm was side by side with Shotko on lap 18 and they raced that way for 4 laps. Hamm took the lead on lap 22 and never looked back; he got his first win of the season and the rest of the finishing order was Shotko, Eppink, DeGood, #66 Adam Chase, DeBoer, Gruppen and #67 Mike Welch.

The Engine Pro Super Stocks was the final class to see action, #6 Bob Bliss and #54 Joel Baker started on the front row of the 75-lap feature. Bliss maintained the top spot with #48 Seth Moody on his tail; #51 Justin Ryan was making his way up to join them. Moody took the lead on lap 7 using the inside lane, but Bliss was battling back on the outside. The first caution of the race happened on lap 7 when #5 Tim Stuart spun in turn 2. Moody solidly had the lead after the restart and the field settled in to single file with 60 laps remaining on the scoreboard. On lap 23, Moody had caught the tail end of the field to start putting laps on cars all while he continued to grow his lead, which stood at two and a half seconds. The #66 of Nate Walton was on the move; after grabbing the fast qualifying award earlier in the day and starting 9th, he made his way up to second on lap 35, but had over six seconds to make up. Those six seconds were quickly erased when the #88 of Trever McCoy hit the tire wall in turn three and come to a stop in turn 4. On the restart, Walton and Ryan were all over Moody for the lead; on lap 39 Walton and Moody made contact, but they saved it and Ryan was scored as the leader. Moody would start to reel in Ryan, but he would fall back after a few laps. Moody made it back to Ryan’s bumper on lap 55 as they were coming up on lapped traffic. Caution number three came out on lap 66 after Baker made contact with the #77 of Andrew Nylaan. After the field was restart, the field was immediately back under yellow as Baker looped it in turn 2. After the restart, Moody was all over Ryan, trying all he could to get around him, but on lap 68, Nylaan brought out the fifth caution of the night after he spun on the backstretch. Ryan got a good restart, leaving Moody to fend off the hard-charging Walton and the caution was out again with just two laps to go; Baker had made contact with #76 Warren Speet going into turn 2. This set up a green-white-checker and Ryan got another good restart and just had to hold off the field for another lap. Ryan was able to hold on the lead and get two wins in a row. Moody, Walton, #78 Will Olmsted, #55 Dave Lake, Bliss, #18 Denny Anderson, Nylaan, #20 Dave Hull and #18 Denny Anderson completed the top ten.

Up next at Berlin Raceway, the Coors Light Super Late Models will have their first race of the season and will be joined by the Engine Pro Super Stocks, Model Coverall Modifieds, Kerkstra Services Sportsman and Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders; it’s also $1 beer and $1 hot dog night! Tickets are $12 for adults while kids under 11 get in for free; the first race starts at 7:00 p.m. More information can be found at www.berlinraceway.com

Lisa Walker
Berlin Raceway










Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />